Final paycheck wage reduced to minimum wage

I was hired at $10 and hour, received 1 paycheck for that amount. I was fired 2 weeks later with no reason given. (I know FLA is a "at will" state) but when I went to get my final check if was for minimum wage. The reason given was that they were allowed to do this because "I hurt their business".

1 answer  |  asked Nov 30, 2008 7:16 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Answers (1)

Paul Penichet
Not allowed

The employer is not allowed to lower your hourly wage after you have completed the work. The employer can, however, lower your hourly wage before you begin working. In that case, you may decide whether to accept the new wage or quit.

posted by Paul Penichet  |  Dec 1, 2008 5:20 PM [EST]

Answer This Question

Sign In to Answer this Question

Related Questions with Answers

Have an Employment Law question?

Virginia Employment Lawyers

Matthew Sutter Matthew Sutter
Sutter & Terpak, PLLC
Annandale, VA
Edward Lowry Edward Lowry
Charlottesville, VA
Gerald Lutkenhaus Gerald Lutkenhaus
Virginia Workers Compensation & Disability Lawyer
Richmond, VA
Matthew Kaplan Matthew Kaplan
The Kaplan Law Firm
Sheri Abrams Sheri Abrams
Sheri R. Abrams PLLC
Oakton, VA

more Virginia Employment Lawyers