in Florida can an employer REQUIRE 1 month notice for resignation? Can they withhold pay if 1 month is not given?

I am an exempt employee, not under contact, in
Florida. According to my handbook my employer requires 1 month notice, otherwise they may hold salary earned and / or leave paid accrued. Is this legal?

2 answers  |  asked Nov 7, 2016 07:53 AM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Answers (2)

Phyllis Towzey
They can withhold your vacation pay since they did provide notice of this policy. They may be able to withhold part of your salary for your last pay period as well, but cannot pay you less than minimum wage in your last paycheck.

posted by Phyllis Towzey  |  Nov 7, 2016 2:08 PM [EST]
Arthur Schofield
Since you are on notice of this your claim may be more difficult, but anytime an employer fails to pay a wage you have a claim in Florida that allows for the recover of attorney's fees and costs.

posted by Arthur Schofield  |  Nov 7, 2016 08:44 AM [EST]

Answer This Question

Sign In to Answer this Question

Related Questions with Answers

Have an Employment Law question?

Virginia Employment Lawyers

Gerald Lutkenhaus Gerald Lutkenhaus
Virginia Workers Compensation & Disability Lawyer
Richmond, VA
Sheri Abrams Sheri Abrams
Sheri R. Abrams PLLC
Oakton, VA
Matthew Sutter Matthew Sutter
Sutter & Terpak, PLLC
Annandale, VA
Matthew Kaplan Matthew Kaplan
The Kaplan Law Firm
ARLINGTON, VA
Edward Lowry Edward Lowry
MichieHamlett
Charlottesville, VA

more Virginia Employment Lawyers