Can an employer withhold a weeks salary when you first begin a job and then not pay you for that week if you don't give a 2 weeks notice in VA? They have this clause in their employee handbook

My former employee wont pay out a week of withheld salary because I did not give 2 weeks notice. There is a statement in the employee handbook but I did not realize they won't pay if you don't give 2 weeks notice. If I did the work, how can they not pay you?

1 answer  |  asked Sep 13, 2016 6:17 PM [EST]  |  applies to Virginia

Answers (1)

Matthew Sutter
No. They cannot do this. Moreover its wrong. Please call me and schedule a time for a free 1/2 hour consultation in person or on the phone. I would love to read this handbook. I suspect you have a case which we can help you with.

Matthew T. Sutter, Esq.
616 North Washington Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone: 703-836-9030
Facsimile: 703-683-1543
Email: sutter@oldtownlawyers.com
Web: www.oldtownlawyers.com

posted by Matthew Sutter  |  Sep 14, 2016 2:37 PM [EST]

Answer This Question

Sign In to Answer this Question

Have an Employment Law question?

Virginia Employment Lawyers

Gerald Lutkenhaus Gerald Lutkenhaus
Virginia Workers Compensation & Disability Lawyer
Richmond, VA
Sheri Abrams Sheri Abrams
Sheri R. Abrams PLLC
Oakton, VA
Matthew Sutter Matthew Sutter
Wade, Friedman & Sutter, P.C.
Alexandria, VA
Edward Lowry Edward Lowry
MichieHamlett
Charlottesville, VA

more Virginia Employment Lawyers