Florida Questions and Answers about Wage payment

Can I sue for punitive damages for withholding my final paycheck?
I was terminated from my employment and was never given my final paycheck. I wrote a letter and got a reply from an attorney that stated I must return items in order to pick up my paycheck. I do not h...
2 answers  |  asked Aug 3, 2013 2:33 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Is it lawful for an employer to deduct wages for non work reasons?
Hi. My ex-employer deducted wages in the amount of $275 from my last paycheck. The deduction was made without my consent for a transaction with a coworker that had nothing to do with work. The transac...
1 answer  |  asked May 14, 2012 6:47 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

What am i required to pay someone who works for commisssion after they leave
i have just been given notice that my construction manager is leaving. he is paid a base salary plus commission. the commission is pad at the end of the job, after completion and customer is satisfied...
2 answers  |  asked Nov 13, 2011 12:07 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Can an employeer not pay owed sick time?
My husband recently had to call in sick for more then the normal amount of time. He did have enough time in his "sick account" for paid time off. His employeer is now telling him that they will not pa...
1 answer  |  asked Apr 18, 2011 06:20 AM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

salary or not salary ?
I am classified as a salary employee, my check stub states salary 40 hours, although I am required to work a min of 50 hours weekly. If i miss a day of work,( out sick, emergency,) I am forced to eith...
1 answer  |  asked Apr 14, 2011 10:49 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Resigned and was terminated on spot
I am currently a manager at a small medical collection firm. I am about to give my notice 8 weeks in advance. The owner of the company has a track record for letting people go as soon as they give not...
1 answer  |  asked Jan 18, 2010 10:03 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Final paycheck wage reduced to minimum wage
I was hired at $10 and hour, received 1 paycheck for that amount. I was fired 2 weeks later with no reason given. (I know FLA is a "at will" state) but when I went to get my final check if was for min...
1 answer  |  asked Nov 30, 2008 9:16 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Unaurhoized payroll deduction
My former employer deducted $740.00 from my paycheck. He has it listed as material. I did not authorize this deduction. I have waited to persue as I had cobra health coverage with him and did not want...
1 answer  |  asked Dec 4, 2007 12:11 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Earned commissions not paid after discussed.
After discussing errors of commission paid on contracts that were coded to other sales person and paid to that sales person, employer states that there will be no changes made and that the commission ...
1 answer  |  asked Jul 17, 2007 8:02 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Termination & Florida Law
Under Florida law, when must an employer provided the final paycheck upon termination? Are the any reasons they can withhold this paycheck legally?
1 answer  |  asked Aug 13, 2006 2:38 PM [EST]  |  applies to Florida

Have an Employment Law question?